Real Life (?): The Adventures Continue

While the title of my blog is no longer relevant to anything I’m doing at all, dealing with that confusion is easier than setting up an entirely new blog. Since my last post in Zanzibar, I done got graduated and started my first foray into that mysterious territory everyone disappears into at some point: adult life. Unlike many of my classmates, however, I did not graduate with a job. Or a set path. Or even really a plan for that matter. Yet I don’t regret it in the least. I’ve been out of school for almost exactly a year now, and my journey of self-discovery has seen me at a grassroots organizing workshop in Puerto Rico with the Sierra Club, a month of backpacking in the Wyoming Rockies with NOLS, and a six-month stint trying out that coveted “young and retired” lifestyle in Portland,OR. With an excellent father-son road trip from one corner of the US to the other via Yellowstone capping my “year off,” I’m ready, finally, to get a move on.

Pops' selfie game is strong in the Sawtooths, ID.

Pops’ selfie game is strong in the foothills of the Sawtooth Mountain Range, ID.

Which brings me to the next stage in my life. In three-ish days I will once again be leaving the Low Country and heading for Colorado, accompanied my good friend John. I will be working as a support intern for a wilderness expedition/service learning outfit, which will hopefully open the door to my newest career path of wilderness expedition. If everything goes as planned, the trip to Colorado and my time around Mesa Verde will provide ample material for more blog posts to come. Until then, dear readers.

Leave a comment